Master Yang Yuting  (1887 - 1982)



    Quote from the book Wu Style Taijiquan, by Wang Peisheng & Zeng Weiqi:

    “Yang Yuting (1987-1982) was a famous Taijiquan master with a rich teaching experience of about sixty years in Beijing. He was a direct disciple of Master Wang Maozhai, who was a direct disciple of the illustrious founder of the Wu School Taijiquan, Master Quan Yu (“Wu” Quan Yu). Master Yang’s students came from different walks of life, including the well known General Fu Zhuoyi, the outstanding Beijing Opera Kungfu actor Chang Yunxi, the chief Taijiquan instructor of the famous Beidaihe Sanatorium, Master Li Jingwu, the Dean of the Chinese Martial Arts teaching Centre of the Eastern District of Beijing, Master Li Bingci and the Great Expert of Martial Arts Wang Peisheng.

    Master Yang had always been much respected for his strict and detailed instruction and the no-flowery-talk teaching manner. In the course of his teaching, he laid great emphasis on the standardization of Form and the clear understanding of the characteristics of the Art, and then proceeded to render individual treatment according to different personal conditions.

    He had been holding the vice-chairmanship of Beijing Wushu Association for many years up to his death at 95. Master Yang had stopped teaching Taijiquan since 1966. In 1961, he prepared a series of lecture notes for his students”.

End of Quote.

    Not long before his death, the authors of the book obtained permission from the Master to condense and revise a part of the Lectures valuable material to be offered to the public, “so the readers of the book may have the opportunity of receiving the famous teacher’s guidance to lead them through the gate of Taijiquan and onto the Way to the mastery of the Art”. (more...)

   ...”As Tai Chi Chuan is quite complicated in its movement formation and demands a high degree of technical exactness and adaptability, and as the art emphasizes a gradual and natural development of subtle mind control, keen sensation and alert reaction, there is no short cut to the mastery of the art, and it is not advisable to design a quick learning course.

The right path to success is one of ceaseless endeavor following a scheme of gradual progression leading to a deeper and deeper understanding of the principles and techniques of the art and a finer and finer degree of controlling the body by the mind”... (read full text)

Master Yang Yuting Scheme of Graded Teaching and Learning

    Wu Taijiquan (boxing) was created by Quan You (1834-1902) who lived at Daxing in Hebei Province (now under Beijing Municipality).

    Quan You was of the Manchu nationality of China. He learned Taiji Quan from Yang Luchan and later followed Yangˋs second son Yang Banhou. Quan You was known for his ability to soften his movements and use “neutralizing” energy.

    Quan Youˋs son Jianquan changed his family name to Wu as he was brought up as a Han national. Wu Jianquan (1870-1942) inherited and disseminated a style of Taiji which is

comfortable and upright. His style is continuous and ingenious and because his

routine dos not require jumps and leaps. it spread far and wide among common people.

    Since this style of Taiji Quan was disseminated by Chuan You’s son, Wu Chien

Chuan (吴 鉴 泉) (1870-1942), it became known as the Wu-Family Taiji boxing.

    Wu Chien Chuan’s teachings were inherited by his eldest daughter, Master Wu Yin Hua (1912-1996) and her husband, Master Ma Yueh Liang (1900-1998). The association has

now been inherited by their eldest son, Ma Hai Long.

Beijing Wu

    In Beijing, Wu Tai Chi was carried on by Chuan You’s student, Master Wang Maozhai, who handed it down to Master Yang Yuting and from him to Wang PeiSheng.


    The Beijing lineage of Wu Taijiquan places more emphasis on Chinese five element theory and eight triagram theory. They focus especially on vital points to movechi in a daily routine.       This form of Wu Taijiquan is distinct from the Family Style, and is known as Northern Wu Style.


    In 2017, this teachings are carried forward by Wang PeiSheng’s disciples:

Masters Zhao Zeren; Lu Shengli and Zhang Yun.